Weekly Photo Project, Week 21

My weekly photo project is an attempt to capture one picture every day for a year, taking things one week at a time. I’m 21 weeks into it now, and perhaps you have not been following this project from the beginning. If you’d like to take a look back, here’s a link to Week 1, and from there you can see each week from the start. You could also browse through it backwards using the link at the bottom of this article. I hope that you enjoy the pictures!

Monday, December 10, 2018

46268318391_db12662b0e_z

Christmas Lights Display – Layton, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Tuesday, December 11, 2018

46229159462_21318306e5_z

Reading To Children And Seniors – Layton, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Wednesday, December 12, 2018

44504964080_62149e2712_z

Clouds Moving Across The Wasatch – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm X-T20

Thursday, December 13, 2018

44491412130_b6eba7577d_z

Frosted Hill – Ogden, UT – Fujifilm X-T20

Friday, December 14, 2018

45592498544_27afedaa58_z

Watching Trains – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm X-T20

Saturday, December 15, 2018

46384649441_a9817a8e5f_z

Red Chairs In Snow – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm X-T20

Sunday. December 16, 2018

44544206060_1d40e1ac4a_z

Ogden Airport – Ogden, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Week 20  Week 22

Weekly Photo Project, Week 20

I had a couple days of productive photography during this week. Because of my busy holiday schedule, the sometimes less-than-ideal weather conditions, and fewer daylight hours, there were some days where I almost didn’t capture a single picture. Luckily I did manage to take at least two images each day, which is great! Twenty straight weeks capturing at least one photo each day is certainly an accomplishment, one that I wasn’t sure I’d pull off. Now if I can string 32 more weeks together I’ll have successfully finished a 365 project. I want to challenge myself moving forward to improving the quality of the pictures. I feel as though on certain days all I’ve done is made a quick snapshot in order to have a picture. I want to make sure that I’ve created a quality image on each day, which is a challenge within a challenge, I suppose.

Monday, December 3, 2018

46117409362_7aa806d6ca_z

Sunset Painted On The Ridge – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm X-T20

Tuesday, December 4, 2018

46127884332_8f21bf04e2_z

Snow Blowing Off The Roof – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm X-T20

Wednesday, December 5, 2018

46193276021_439fa12272_z

Time For A Photographic Adventure – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Thursday, December 6, 2018

46158402952_6b385fd5e2_z

Holding On Despite The Challenges – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Friday, December 7, 2018

32352882958_6989341b03_z

Fake Flower In The Window – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Saturday, December 8, 2018

45326017005_38e91a097b_z

Lonely Road Cross Process – Farmington, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Sunday, December 9, 2018

31313405387_4013a84cf9_z

Somewhere To Elsewhere – North Salt Lake, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Week 19  Week 21

Weekly Photo Project, Week 19

I don’t feel as though this week was particularly photographically productive, but I did manage to capture at least one photograph every day. I also managed to create a few pictures that are decent. The end of this week marks 133 straight days with at least one image captured, which is a pretty darn good accomplishment. Hopefully I can keep this going through the winter, which I anticipate being the most difficult season for this project. Even if each photograph isn’t amazing and only one each week is good, that still means I have 52 good pictures over the course of a year. I still have a long ways to go, and it’s best not to count chickens before they hatch, so I better keep moving forward one day at a time.

Monday, November 26, 2018

45369262674_4de893bea3_z

Cow Field – SLC, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Tuesday, November 27, 2018

32212591648_0b603a3918_z

Amanda & I at the Great Salt Lake – Antelope Island SP, UT – Fujifilm X100F

Wednesday, November 28, 2018

31154283197_533851b805_z

The Last Two Leaves – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm X-T20

Thursday, November 29, 2018

45387666724_ee5821752d_z

Light Beyond The Wet Window – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm X-T20

Friday, November 30, 2018

45206728965_65fe414491_z

Boots – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm X-T20

Saturday, December 1, 2018

44316468570_54e918bbc7_z

Light Dust of Snow – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm X-T20

Sunday, December 2, 2018

31216071927_4c529580fa_z

Frosty Fall – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Week 18  Week 20

Weekly Photo Project, Week 18

During this week I used my wife’s Fujifilm X-T20 quite a bit. I promised her that I wouldn’t take it over, but I’ve enjoyed using it so much that I kind of did take it over. Well, I asked nicely if I could use it each time, and I’ve also shared my cameras with her (or, at least made the offer to). I think when the X-T30 comes out, which might be sometime next year, it will be very tempting to pick one up.

Monday, November 19, 2018

44155883880_33a150cfa9_z

Crevasse Tree – Snow Canyon SP, UT – Fujifilm X-T20

Tuesday, November 20, 2018

31055374387_cc58604156_z

A Pine Among The Rocks – Zion NP, UT – Fujifilm X-T20

Wednesday, November 21, 2018

45994089001_279ecc4aec_z

Past & Future, or Fad? – Nephi, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Thursday, November 22, 2018

46005272141_e06d6a6ea8_z

Where Fall & Winter Meet – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm X-T20

Friday, November 23, 2018

32146614198_42ac239019_z

The Little Engineer – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm X-T20

Saturday, November 24, 2018

44232622900_99376288d9_z

Cold & Chancy Commute – Layton, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Sunday, November 25, 2018

45324134014_4a961f1cb2_z

Mountain Snow Cloud – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm X-T20

Week 17  Week 19

Weekly Photo Project, Week 17

I’m continuing last week’s theme of alternating between color and black-and-white. Monday and Saturday were the only two days that I didn’t capture a whole lot, and the pickings were slim. Otherwise I had at least a handful of photographs to choose from for each day. Amazingly enough, I’m about 1/3 of the way through this 52 week project, which is hard to believe because it seems like I just started. I’m anticipating that winter will be the most difficult season, but I’m staying hopeful that I can complete it without missing a single day.

Monday, November 12, 2018

45853511731_96303a23b7_z

Every Rose Has Its Thorns – Layton, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Tuesday, November 13, 2018

45145030354_83bc44f5ef_z

Lights & Shadows – Farmington, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Wednesday, November 14, 2018

44970760705_1f50fe3fdb_z

Steve – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm X-T20

Thursday, November 15, 2018

44986382175_8378bd443e_z

A Paleontologist Happily Working – Ogden, UT – Fujifilm X-T20

Friday, November 16, 2018

30971939967_124ed6ed5b_z

Little White Pumpkin On The Mantel – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm X-T20

Saturday, November 17, 2018

45924885201_a5694fcbf7_z

Classic Russian Camera – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm X-T20

Sunday, November 18, 2018

45891399272_034851688a_z

Waiting Alone For The Train – SLC, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Week 16  Week 18

Weekly Photo Project, Week 16

You might notice that I alternated color and black-and-white photographs this week, which I did just for fun. Every day except for Monday I had both color and monochrome images to choose from, so it was easy. Alternatively, I could have made this an all-color week. If a theme presents itself I might try to do that on some weeks just to spice up this series a little.

You might notice that five of the seven pictures were captured at my house. It’s nice when you can travel someplace to do photography, but sometimes that’s just not practical. If you have a camera and a creative mind, it’s possible to create interesting images right where you’re at, wherever that is. It might seem like you’re in a boring location without photographic potential, but try hard enough and you’ll soon spot things worthy of pointing your camera lens towards.

Monday, November 5, 2018

30800508907_ec9b9c5e7e_z

Porch Light – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Tuesday, November 6, 2018

30812084977_940b21bca1_z

Sitting Room – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm X100F

Wednesday, November 7, 2018

45061836544_81bdeb36c3_z

Union Station Waiting Room – Ogden, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Thursday, November 8, 2018

43971970660_3da251def9_z

Peculiar Water – Antelope Island SP, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Friday, November 9, 2018

45075714514_e8cc0ea314_z

Time to Dust Off My Film Photography – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Saturday, November 10, 2018

45814589321_ac9a865dc4_z

Jonathan’s Smile – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm X-T20

Sunday, November 11, 2018

30893739407_14fbf462c3_z

Wasatch November – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm X-T20

Week 15  Week 17

Weekly Photo Project, Week 15

Wow! It’s hard to believe that I’m already 15 weeks into this photo-a-day project. Daylight Savings ended and the clocks were set back one hour, and it almost derailed this series. Thankfully I had a camera with me and I was able to snap an image out the car window while driving down the highway just before the last light of day disappeared.

Monday, October 29, 2018

45623557251_438c9a3401_z

Window Pentax – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm X100F

Tuesday, October 30, 2018

30700133987_3e24d6cd1b_z

Empty Church Seats – Layton, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Wednesday, October 31, 2018

44935924994_24b242a1b4_z

Stretching Scrub – Kaysville, UT – Fujifilm X100F

Thursday, November 1, 2018

43850594350_59733c6398_z

Fog On The Ridge – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm X-T20

Friday, November 2, 2018

45779308532_63048439fc_z

Clouds Over The Great Salt Lake – Antelope Island SP, UT – Fujifilm X100F

Saturday, November 3, 2018

44784425705_bc0232dffd_z

Autumn Morning Sunlight – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm X-T20

Sunday, November 4, 2018

44812183125_912c4b7bc0_z

Sunset From Legacy Parkway – Centerville, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Week 14  Week 16

Weekly Photo Project, Week 14

The interesting thing about where I live is that I have a front-row seat to the progression of autumn. I can see the colors turn first at the top of the mountain, which is clearly visible out the back door, and move down the hill over the following weeks. As the leaves begin to disappear off of the trees on the mountain, they start to turn from green to yellow, orange and red down in the valley, which is where I live. The fall colors have mostly disappeared off of the mountain, but they’re still vibrant in the foothills, although the trees have thinned out considerably. There’s probably one more week of autumn trees. Soon the landscape will be somewhat stark and barren, with the chill of winter quickly coming.

Monday, October 22, 2018

45460400032_a938c41305_z

Autumn Tree Leaf – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Tuesday, October 23, 2018

45476788642_153e4d2cee_z

The Yellow Tree – Layton, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Wednesday, October 24, 2018

45506154182_a11dc8dee3_z

Joy Rider – SLC, UT – Fujifilm X100F

Thursday, October 25, 2018

31685368348_7a6e15f953_z

Yellow Tree Behind Fence – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Friday, October 26, 2018

45570172591_8c61a3c2ca_z

Weber County Public Library – South Ogden, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Saturday, October 27, 2018

43766281810_2c93f6463c_z

Pentax Camera – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Sunday, October 28, 2018

30666350547_bc72818af4_z

Sycamore Autumn – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Week 13  Week 15

Weekly Photo Project, Week 13

This week wouldn’t have been successful without the Fujifilm XF10. There were three days that likely would have been passed up without an image if I hadn’t had the little camera in my pocket. For me, the XF10 is an essential tool for this project. This week, which was one of the more difficult weeks for this series, features seven photographs that were captured with the Fujifilm XF10.

Monday, October 15, 2018

44439369005_44a419d2e0_z

Backside of Highway Sign – Kaysville, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Tuesday, October 16, 2018

30427055097_384a87a688_z

Silver & Black – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Wednesday, October 17, 2018

30459121067_7759efa3de_z

Monochrome Succulent  – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Thursday, October 18, 2018

45366837192_e0b2a967b9_z

Jon Holding A Praying Mantis – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Friday, October 19, 2018

43613573430_fbc0a0e3e1_z

Anastigmat – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Saturday, October 20, 2018

45452704391_a66985d159_z

Autumn Over The Red Shed – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Sunday, October 21, 2018

45481624451_506188ec0e_z

Capital Lamp – SLC, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Week 12  Week 14

Weekly Photo Project, Week 12

I used a variety of cameras during this week. You’ll notice that the Fujifilm X-T20 shows up for the first time. That’s my wife’s camera, and it was more convenient to use in that one instance. I haven’t touched it much at all, but in the little that I have handled the X-T20 it seems like a nice, well thought-out camera. The 50-230mm lens that was used for two of these images is also my wife’s, as she was gracious enough to let me borrow it. It’s alright for a cheap zoom, definitely not the sharpest I’ve handled but very lightweight.

Monday, October 8, 2018

30256522107_a64dfd9f75_z

Wasatch Orange – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm X-Pro2 & 50-230mm

Tuesday, October 9, 2018

44305238915_e7e71b64aa_z

Super Fujinon – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm X-Pro2 & 60mm

Wednesday, October 10, 2018

44317079545_28202a2f58_z

Powder – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm X-T20 & 50-230mm

Thursday, October 11, 2018

30316682957_81e1bcdd25_z

Pentax Shutter Dial – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm X100F

Friday, October 12, 2018

45283793241_87df87eaa3_z

Red Squash – South Ogden, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Saturday, October 13, 2018

31430657538_be834bd7ab_z

Towering – SLC, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Sunday, October 14, 2018

45352919561_7c391f2a78_z

Autumn Forest Trail – Fruit Heights, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Week 11  Week 13

Weekly Photo Project, Week 11

There were two days during this week where I captured many great photographs, specifically Tuesday and Wednesday. I traveled to Heber Valley and into the Wasatch Mountains and made a bunch of exposures that I’m especially happy with. I’ll have to share those pictures with you in an upcoming article. The pickings were slim on all the other days, but I did manage to capture at least one photograph daily, which is the goal of this project.

Monday, October 1, 2018

31172731598_cd0378b644_z

And Be There – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm X-Pro2 & 60mm

Tuesday, October 2, 2018

45099349281_5146962db7_z

Red Leaves In The Forest – Wasatch Mountain SP, UT – Fujifilm X-Pro2 & 60mm

Wednesday, October 3, 2018

43276437840_df8a0ce201_z

Clouds Around Timpanogos – Heber City, UT – Fujifilm X-Pro2 & 50-230mm

Thursday, October 4, 2018

45058649702_117680fc55_z

Rain, Rain, Go Away – Lauton, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Friday, October 5, 2018

44406286634_174e718433_z

Window Wasp – Syracuse, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Saturday, October 6, 2018

43334864030_47ee09a447_z

Coupler Release – Ogden, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Sunday, October 7, 2018

45120658492_48d8e9d06b_z

Four Wheel Chair – SLC, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Week 10  Week 12

Weekly Photo Project, Week 10

It’s hard to believe that I’m sharing Week 10 of this project already. It’s seems like I just started! While there have been days where I really had to try hard to capture even one or two exposures (such as September 29), for the most part things have become easier. Routine has set in a little. It is what I do now. The Fujifilm XF10 has certainly helped. On most days I’m able to make a number of pictures, perhaps a handful or two. Hopefully as the days become shorter and colder I’ll still be able to keep this up.

Monday, September 24, 2018

43088239730_62943f3551_z

Disc 4000 – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm X-Pro2 & 60mm

Tuesday, September 25, 2018

43106076230_60344f2273_z

Ghosts of the Past – Ogden, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Wednesday, September 26, 2018

44028848695_60c4066693_z

Autumn Countryside – Whites Crossing, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Thursday, September 27, 2018

43144155430_51abfc1ff7_z

Plastic Fingers – Ogden, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Friday, September 28, 2018

44269987704_1ed0385f9e_z

Scattering of Red – Fruit Heights, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Saturday, September 29, 2018

44940918372_83dac246c1_z

For Professionals – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm X-Pro2 & 60mm

Sunday, September 30, 2018

30082883797_3a86a3085d_z

Storm Over Ensign Peak – SLC, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Week 9  Week 11

Weekly Photo Project, Week 9

Nine weeks down, just 43 to go! Each week seems to have a couple of days where I capture a bunch of pictures, a couple of days of barely any pictures, and two or three days where I capture a handful of images. Those days where I’m lucky to have one or two photographs are the hard ones, but, thanks to this project, I’m forcing myself to take a moment to use my camera even when my busy day doesn’t seem to allow. Athletes and musicians practice daily, so it’s good for me to practice daily too. I know that this series will help me to improve me photography. Even if it’s only by a little it will be worth well worth it, because I want to be the best artist that I can be, and communicate my vision through pictures as strongly as possible.

Monday, September 17, 2018

29812030237_49cd3a3ec8_z

Camera Beauty – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Tuesday, September 18, 2018

44721601732_af11470b30_z

Bolsey 100 – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Wednesday, September 19, 2018

44075861534_e4130ff730_z

Red Tree – Liberty, UT – Fujifilm X-Pro2 & 60mm

Thursday, September 20, 2018

44094934134_218aca4710_z

Swinging Child Shadow – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Friday, September 21, 2018

44081161345_924bba064c_z

FED 5c Window – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Saturday, September 22, 2018

44855407741_b8036c980e_z

SLC ATC Tower – SLC, UT – Fujifilm X-Pro2 & 60mm

Sunday, September 23, 2018

44825573182_02b10664be_z

Cloudy Day Train – Clearfield, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Week 8  Week 10

Weekly Photo Project, Week 8

Week eight of this project proved to be especially difficult. Not every day was hard to capture an image, but three of the seven days almost didn’t have a picture. Luckily, I had purchased a Fujifilm XF10, and it arrived just in time to help me out. I really do believe that I would have faltered on at least one day, if not two, if this camera wasn’t sitting in my pocket begging to be used. The downside is that, while I was able to capture an image on those days, a couple of the photographs this week aren’t the strongest pictures.

Monday, September 10, 2018

44559202662_91e2a3aec2_z

Flag On A Pole – Layton, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Tuesday, September 11, 2018

30754702008_e26b43155b_z

Light Patch On The Water – Layton, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Wednesday, September 12, 2018

42839294700_e83cb24dfe_z

Chevy Blue – Riverdale, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Thursday, September 13, 2018

30798223358_0f2fab26ca_z

Fall Is In The Trees – Bountiful, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Friday, September 14, 2018

44680174431_82852e4c5c_z

Hat Abstract – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Saturday, September 15, 2018

43788553225_65d540d6db_z

Kodak Ektachrome-X – South Weber, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Sunday, September 16, 2018

44011659834_66a56d780c_z

Trash Corner – Layton, UT – Fujifilm XF10

Week 7   Week 9